Aller au menu Aller au contenu Aller à la recherche
  • Français
  • English
  • Français
  • English
aA - +Imprimer la page

Nobel Prize 2020: Physics and Chemistry

Tags :

On November 27, 1895, Alfred Nobel signed his last will, donating most of his fortune to a series of prizes in physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature and peace – the Nobel Prizes.

The Nobel Prize for Physics and Chemistry reward eminent scientific figures who have rendered great service to humanity by an exceptional contribution in these respective fields. Prizes awarded annually in October by members of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.

The 2020 Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded on Tuesday, October 6 to Roger Penrose, Reinhard Genzel and Andrea Ghez for their work on black holes:

The discovery that the formation of black holes is a robust prediction of general relativity theory.

On Wednesday, October 7, 2020, the Nobel Prize in chemistry was awarded to the Frenchwoman Emmanuelle Charpentier and the American Jennifer Doudna for the discovery of the DNA chisel Crispr-Cas9. The Frenchwoman, 51, and the American, 56, become the sixth and seventh women to win a Nobel in chemistry since 1901.


Log In

Create an account